Skip to main content

The release of the new SDA standards means that from 1st July, 2021, for a dwelling to be certified to Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) standards, it must be certified by an Accredited SDA Assessor.

We are pleased to announce that Lauren Hart, founder of Optimal Living Therapy, is registered as an NDIS Accredited SDA Assessor (licence number SDA00010).

What is an Accredited SDA Assessor?

SDA assessors will, as a part of the certification process, nominate the Design Category the dwelling satisfies based on the Design Standards.

What are the requirements to become an SDA assessor?

The new Design Standards Mandated SDA assessors can be from 1 of 4 professions:

  • Builder surveyors
  • Architect
  • OT
  • Access Consultant

With additional qualifications of a Cert 4 or Diploma in Access Consulting required for all professionals.

Lauren completed a Diploma in Access Consultancy with the Institute of Access Training Australia in 2016 and works closely with builders and architects to consult on Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) and provide certifications for dwellings. Lauren has been working in the SDA space since 2017.


    • Bachelor of Science (Occupational Therapy)
    • AHPRA registered Occupational Therapist
    • Diploma of Access Consulting
    • Accredited SDA Assessor
    • Registered Livable Housing Australia Design Guideline Assessor

For more information visit the NDIS website.

Leave a Reply